Skip to content

Notas Santiaguinas a 48 Horas

October 24, 2009

So I’ve been in Santiago for about 48 hours and seen most of the sites. My conclusion: it’s a nice city, though, if you’re looking to be wowed, I wouldn’t buy you a ticket. Yesterday, I went to churches and museums; today I went to parks. In photos:

Nice lighting.

Nice lighting.

This is the interior of the church right next to my hotel, built by Franciscans in the 1500’s. It’s the oldest building in the city.

In the Catedral Metropolitana.

In the Catedral Metropolitana.

This guy is apparently a big deal… don’t know if I’d trust him. I think it’s the hair. Also, they call San Hurtado but he can’t really be a saint yet, can he?

Where's your head at?

Where's your head at?

A statue in the Plaza de Armas in the middle of the city.

I think most would say his vision was clearer than those who came after him.

I think most would say his vision was clearer than those who came after him.

I need to read more about Salvador Allende. A chilling exhibit at the Museo Nacional.

It's like those Magic Eye things, but not.

It's like those Magic Eye things, but not.

Doesn’t this look like the top of the Sistine Chapel? Or am I imagining things?

Posers.

Non-posers.

The Fuente de Neptune at the bottom of the Cerro Santa Lucia.

I think he's shunning the sign.

Permanent shun by the statue.

Could be ironic, but I’ve read that Darwin was in fact a committed Christian.

Last one in's a rotten egg!

Last one in's a rotten egg!

The sign, I believe, says the water isn’t fit for bathing. I have to guess that most people wouldn’t want to try.

I'm always up for something new.

I'm always up for trying something new.

Who’s hungry??

The others were hazier.

The others were hazier.

It’s tough to get past the haze but I tried. Atop the Cerro San Cristobal.

Yeah! What he said!

Yeah! What he said!

I guess I’m somewhat seagull-ish, in the scheme of this graffiti, but the people here have all been nice – nobody’s asked me what I’m doing here. They’re content knowing that I’m on vacation. All in all, I’d give Santiago a thumbs-up, though not two. It’s relatively cheap and walkable. The Bellas Artes museum has a bunch of beautiful Chilean landscapes while the historical museum has a lot of interesting artifacts and little miniature recreations of typical Chilean communities from different eras. They put a bunch of oregano on top of their sandwiches, i.e. right on top of the bread, and I think we should try that.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

