Skip to content

Borel Hill

October 5, 2009

I went on a hike yesterday before sunset to the top of Borel Hill in the Russian Ridge Open Space Preserve up on Skyline. The sky was unfortunately overcast above me; the wind was turned my cheeks red and below my breath into fog on my glasses. Below me, however, the land lay in sunshine. To the west, the ocean was replaced by a sheet of  glare, gilded by the setting sun. To the east I could see from past Dumbarton Bridge all the way down to San Jose. Red-tailed hawks hovered at eye level. The land around the peak was black, the site of a controlled burn.

I went for a hike to the same point earlier this summer with my little brother. A coyote walked almost directly up to us. All this is thanks to the Midpeninsula Regional Open Space District and I heard of it via Tom Steinstra at the Chronicle. It’s absolutely worth the drive, which is in fact the longer part of the trip, as the hike is less than a mile. I’d post a picture to prove it if I had remembered my camera but I’ll do so after my next visit.

Leave a Reply

